Twisted Mix Tape-My Summer musical montage

mixtape-jenkehl-200

 

So Twisted Mix Tape is back!! I’m excited and ready for the challenge….besides, I’ve been having blogging brain toots and this is the perfect thing to get me going.

My summer was filled with music of all sorts but to be honest with you the ones that I can’t get out of my head are my cumbia oldies but goodies….mostly because my boyfriend recently joined a conjunto band named  Conjunto Sereno and I get excited and sentimental when I hear music that reminds me of my family, growing up, and my days as a quincenera cumbia dancing queen LOL, or so I want to believe that my dancing abilities blow everyone away. Conjunto/ Tejano  is danced a lot different than cumbias so the bf has to push me to dance, but I always secretly want to. There’s a lot of competition from all the old fogies. It’s intimidating!

So, I have spent my summer being chicle (bubble gum) to my boyfriend. I’ve been going with him to the gigs and he LOVES  it,  but wants to be all cool about me being chicle. I’m glad that he’s opened the door of conjunto music for me and I always enjoy hearing him practice….gives me time to blog and get things done.  Anyways, my mix tape is a combination of songs Conjunto Sereno covers. One, because I can’t get them out of my head. Two, because I wanted to post the originals, the way I remember while growing up, but mostly because I have yet to record a gig of theirs….and also because I get a kick out of these music videos.

1. La del Mono Colorado- Los Pedernales.

2. Te He Prometo_ Leo Dan

3.  El Coco Rayado- Ruben Vela

4. Golpes en el Corazon- Los Tigres del Norte

5. Mi Destino- Conjunto Sereno

So while I was looking on YouTube I found this song. My BF caught me singing it the other day while doing laundry.

2 thoughts on “Twisted Mix Tape-My Summer musical montage

  1. Well you have to know that I LOVE THIS!!! I was surprised by El Coco Rayado, I feel like I know that song but some other way. Is it done by a lot of different artists? This is so awesome, I have a growing youtube playlist now! Thank you!

    • Yes, a lot of artists cover El Coco Rayado but this version is the most popular here and it’s the one I remember. It’s very popular here especially at weddings and quincenerias.

Leave a Reply

